The National Park, formerly occupied by the Demerara Golf Club since 1923 was renamed the Queen Elizabeth II National Park in 1965 in honour of the Queen's visit to Guyana. On Guyana's attainment of independence it was became known as the National Park. It was the scene for one of the most historic events of Guyana's history. On 26 May 1966 the Golden Arrowhead was hoisted and the Union Jack lowered marking the birth of Guyana. This park is utilized for cultural, educational and recreational activities and is maintained by The National Parks Commission under the Ministry of Agriculture.
The Monument To the Child, located in the complex of the National Park was erected by the National Commission for The Right of The Child in 2000. The monument consists of the sun seated on an up sided down L, the vertical part signifying strength and the growth of children whilst the other arm indicates that children have to reach for the stars. The base of the monument is representative of the world and the six benches depict the six races of Guyana.
Along Carifesta Avenue are examples of the Magazines, which were once used for the storage of ammunition by the British armed forces. Constructed of concrete they stand as a reminder of the nation's history.
The Young Men's Christian Association, one of the longest associations in Guyana was founded in the early 1900's and was the stage for many cultural and educational activities.